The 2012 Nebula Award Nominees…

have been announced. The list looks fantastic but I’m ashamed that I’ve read very, very few of the titles. Most of them are at least on my TBR, so I may just make March the Nebula nominee month and start catching up. nebula award logo

I’ve noticed something interesting since I’ve started blogging. First of all, I think a lot more about why I like or dislike a book. Secondly, I used to be only interested in awards for full length novels. Short stories, novellas or novellettes never did it for me. Being first and foremost a fantasy reader, I am quite comfortable with big books and I always thought short stories couldn’t capture me the same way a doorstopper novel could. But then I fell so thoroughly in love with certain authors’ writing (read: Catherynne M. Valente and Genevieve Valentine) that I had to read everything I could find. In my attempt to catch up on the nominees, I will still favor novels but at least I won’t completely disregard the shorter fiction. I have learned how powerful a story of merely a few pages can be.

NOVEL

  • 2312, Kim Stanley Robinson (WINNER)
  • Throne of the Crescent Moon, Saladin Ahmed (my review)
  • Ironskin, Tina Connolly –> TBR
  • The Killing Moon, N.K. Jemisin  (my review)
  • The Drowning Girl, Caitlín R. Kiernan (my review)
  • Glamour in Glass, Mary Robinette Kowal  (my review)

NOVELLA

  • After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall by Nancy Kress (WINNER)
  • On a Red Station, Drifting by Aliette de Bodard
  • “The Stars Do Not Lie”, Jay Lake
  • All the Flavors“, Ken Liu
  • “Katabasis”, Robert Reed
  • Barry’s Tale“, Lawrence M. Schoen
NOVELETTE
SHORT STORY

ANDRE NORTON AWARD FOR YOUNG ADULT SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY

  • Fair Coin, E.C. Myers (WINNER)
  • Iron Hearted Violet, Kelly Barnhill –> TBR
  • Black Heart, Holly Black
  • Above, Leah Bobet
  • The Diviners, Libba Bray –> TBR
  • Vessel, Sarah Beth Durst  –> TBR
  • Seraphina, Rachel Hartman –> TBR
  • Enchanted, Alethea Kontis
  • Every Day, David Levithan –> TBR
  • Summer of the Mariposas, Guadalupe Garcia McCall
  • Railsea, China Miéville –> TBR
  • Above World, Jenn Reese –> TBR

Thanks to SF Signal for providing links to many of the short fiction works!

5 thoughts on “The 2012 Nebula Award Nominees…

  1. I mentioned over on SF Signal that I am currently reading Glamour in Glass and when done that will be the only novel of the group I’ve read.

    I’ve read the Kress novella which was very good. Hoped to see The Emperor’s Soul by Sanderson on the list but cannot say if it deserved to be in lieu of any of the others there.

    I’ve been impressed with the work of Ken Liu of late and it wouldn’t surprise me if he won an award or two.

    • Yeah, those are all names I feel I should have read but haven’t. But at least I’ve read Shades of Milk and Honey (and liked it), so i can jump right in with Glamour in Glass. Can’t wait to here what you have to say about it. ;)

      In my burst of motivation, I just started The Drowning Girl an hour ago and it is sooooo good. I can’t believe it took me so long to pick it up.

      • I went on Amazon and was reading some of the negative reviews of The Drowning Girl and found them entertaining. People do have such a wide variety of tastes and it always interests me come award season the variety of opinions people have on the worthiness of the stories that are short-listed.

        I’m making a concerted effort this year to read more current novels and short stories as I think it would nice to be able to join in the awards conversations next year with some affinity for the stories but it is so hard to anticipate what might be there and it is impossible to keep up with all the new novels that come out each month, let alone adding in various short fiction releases.

  2. I can’t add much on the books, I’ve not read any of them and only have one on the TBR pile. It’s interesting what you say about how blogging has affected your reading habits though (thinking more and a greater willingness to have a go at short stories), because that’s very similar what I’ve gone through. I definitely think more about what I’m reading because I know I’ll be writing about it for public consumption, and I’m more experimental as well. It’s reassuring to know it’s not just me.

    Looking at your archives I see you’ve been at it for a year now. (Slightly belated) congratulations! I’m curious, why did you decide to switch over from blogging in German to English?

    • Thank you!
      I made the switch mostly because I am already very active in a German book forum and I read pretty much all of my books in English. It’s quite difficult writing a review when you know the original words for fantasy creatures or cities or magical abilities – and then either have to look up how they translated it into German or make up my own words? It took me out of the flow of writing the actual review.
      Plus, I love English. It’s a wonderfully open language and I’m hoping all this writing (of whatever quality) well help me get better.

Leave a Reply

