Bout of Books 9.0 – Sign-Up Post + Goals

IT’S BACK! The one read-a-thon that I’ve loved both times I participated is Bout of Books. It’s not a 24-hour crazy race to eat up books and try not to fall asleep. It’s a week that can be as crazy or casual as you like. You set your own goals, you read at your own pace, there are no restrictions as to genres or type of book you read (novels, short stories, novellas…). And the next Bout of Books happens to fall on my week off work. Yaaaaay. Now let’s just hope I don’t discover another Battlestar Galactica. That show completely took over my life during the last Bout of Books…

Bout of Books

If you don’t know what the hell I’m rambling about, this is it:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 6th and runs through Sunday, January 12th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 9.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

My reading goals

This coincides beautifully with other reading challenges that begin with the new year. I probably bit off more than I can chew again, but if I always finished all my challenges, where would the fun be in that? Here are some books that I’m dying to read soon and that are short enough to work well for Bout of Books:

For the sake of Carl’s 2014 Sci-Fi Experience, I’ll probably go with either Ascension (space opera), Never Let Me Go (dystopia?), or Love Minus Eighty (frozen mail-order bride futuristic love story). I keep hearing excellent things about all of them and cannot wait to dive in.

My goals will be to finish two books during the read-a-thon plus maybe an audiobook. We’ll see. I’m not stressing myself too much. My only real requirement to myself is to stick to books that are part of challenges or review copies (I’m looking at you, The Waking Engine…)

EDIT: Aaaaand Carl got me. Love Minus Eighty it is. After that, I’ll read by whim.

One thought on “Bout of Books 9.0 – Sign-Up Post + Goals

  1. Carl V. Anderson says:

    Spoiler for you for my Best Of post coming out later tonight: Love Minus Eighty is my favorite novel of the year. So if we have a vote (which we don’t, but hey, I’ll vote anyway) I would push that one.

    Isn’t it fun (though plan-destroying) when we discover a television series that we just fall into and cannot stop ourselves from consuming as fast as humanly possible? It is that kind of experience that discourages me from watching live television and instead has me often waiting until whole seasons are out before I sit down to watch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

