Bout of Books 9.0 – Updates

It’s time! Bout of Books is here and I’m ready.

Bout of Books

There does seem to be a curse on me. Last time around, Bout of Books was going to happen during my week off work. That week off had to be postponed. This time around, it’s not quite so bad, but I do have to work Tuesday and Wednesday. The rest of the week is all mine, however, and I intend to spend it buried under books. Here’s how it’s going so far:

MONDAY

Total books read: 0
Total pages read:
216
Pages read today: 216
Challenges:

Books I’m reading:

  • Will McIntosh – Love Minus Eighty
  • Kazuo Ishiguro – Never Let Me Go

Progress report:
January 6th is a holiday in Austria which means no work for anyone. Yay!

love minus eightyI started reading Love Minus Eighty a few days ago because Carl made it sound so good. And he was right.
The prologue was fantastic and had me glued to the pages. This story takes place about 100 years into our future, where the most beautiful (or well-insured) women are frozen after their death, to be revived by the highest bidder. Before one such rich man may decide to buy her, there is a set of “dates”. Lying in a tank with only your face unfrozen so you can talk to a perverted old man doesn’t sound like it makes nice reading material. And it is depressing. But also so good! I find myself caring about all the characters and wanting to know what happens to them.
The world building is done superbly. It’s like I learn a new tidbit on every page, but McIntosh never dumps the info on me. That’s how it’s supposed to be. Aaaah, I’m in Sci-Fi heaven.

never let me goDespite being absolutely in love with Love Minus Eighty, especially now that the characters’ storylines become more and more interwoven, I can never read only one book. So I started Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. It is very different in tone and so far, it deals with the upbringing of some strange children in a place called Hailsham. I didn’t even read the blurb, just dove straight in. It’s not as gripping as the McIntosh but I like being able to switch back and forth.

divider1

TUESDAY

Total books read: 0
Total pages read:
276
Pages read today: 70
Challenges:

What I’m Reading:

  • Will McIntosh – Love Minus Eighty
  • Kazuo Ishiguro – Never Let Me Go

Progress report:
This is going to be a long day. Today is one of the two holidays (probably only two, we’ll see) that I’ve had to postpone because work is just insane at the moment and we need everybody who possibly can to come in. I will be reading on my commute and I did read a bit of Never Let Me Go last night in bed. But if my regular work days are anything to go by, tonight I’ll be too tired for much reading – I wouldn’t want to miss a single page in my current books. They are just too good to read with a sleepy mind.
I’ll see you guys for the next update tonight. I’ll be the one with the freshly ordered pizza in her hand and the sleepy eyes.

UPDATE: So yes, work was exhausting and I did end up ordering food. Not much reading, but I still think I can finish my two books, plus a third, until Sunday.

divider1

WEDNESDAY

Total books read: 0
Total pages read:
316
Pages read today: 40
Challenges:

What I’m Reading:

  • Will McIntosh – Love Minus Eighty
  • Kazuo Ishiguro – Never Let Me Go

Progress report:
Good morning, everyone. Here’s to this one being less draining then yesterday. I want to find out what the people in Love Minus Eighty are going to do. And Kazuo Ishiguro fascinates me once more with how thrilling the daily lives of children and teenagers can be when he is writing about them.

UPDATE: Ah well, the curse is back. Looks like I’m going to be working the rest of the week. On the plus side, for a work day, today was pretty nice. Stressful but nice. Tomorrow the CEO is buying pizza for our entire department because so many of us came in from their holidays or stayed at work longer than they had to. So let’s be happy about the small things.

The only reading I did was via audiobook before falling asleep. Kazuo Ishiguro continues to amaze me. His characters are exceptional but lead quite normal lives. And still, little everyday things that upset them, make for quite a thrilling plot.

divider1

SATURDAY

Total books read: 0
Total pages read:
316
Pages read today: 0
Challenges:

What I’m Reading:

  • Will McIntosh – Love Minus Eighty
  • Kazuo Ishiguro – Never Let Me Go

Progress Report:
So no updates from the last days. I’ve spent over 10 hours at work every day and was predictably braindead by the time I got home. It’s Saturday morning and I’m heading to work again. I’d call this week a terrible, terrible failure bout-of-books-wise.

I did inch my way forward in each of my two books but I enjoy them both too much to read them in my current half-asleep state. I want to be wide awake and take in every page. At the moment, I feel (and look) like a zombie, so everything – apart from work – that requires me to use my brain is a no go.

divider1

SUNDAY

Total books read: 0
Total pages read:
525
Pages read today: 209

What I’m Reading:

  • Will McIntosh – Love Minus Eighty
  • Kazuo Ishiguro – Never Let Me Go

Progress Report:
Aaaah, finally proper weekend. So yeah, Bout of Books 9.0 didn’t work out after all. I can’t say I read much during the work week but that’s okay. Maybe I’ll have more luck next time and either a normal work week or a real week off. 🙂
My books are still great. I’m almost finished with Never Let Me Go and I’ll tell you a secret. I’m a few chapters before the end and I totally disobeyed my own rules and watched the movie adaptation. It was surprisingly good but what struck me most was the difference in delivery of certain lines. Where the audiobook narrator is calm and has the characters say even mean things in an almost factual way, Keira Knightley put a big more passion into her lines. It makes for a completely different character. More on that in the upcoming review. But all things considered, book and movie both tell a great story.

One thought on “Bout of Books 9.0 – Updates

Leave a Reply

