#Diversiverse – A More Diverse Universe 2014

I’m still reading fairy tales for this month’s reading theme, but you know me well enough by now to understand I can’t just walk by a reading challenge. BookLust is hosting this year’s Diversiverse challenge. The rules are really, really simple:

Read one book by an author of color and review it.

diversiverse 2014
There you have it. Easy, right? Being somewhat of a Hermione Granger at heart, of course I plan on reading more than just one book. Here are a few books from my TBR pile that would qualify:

  • Karen Lord – The Best of All Possible Worlds
  • Intisar Khanani – Thorn
  • N.K. Jemisin – The Shadowed Sun
  • Nalo Hopkinson – Brown Girl in the Ring
  • Helen Oyeyemi – Mr. Fox
  • Hiromi Goto – Half World
  • Zen Cho – The Perilous Life of Jade Yeo
  • Fuyumi Ono – Sea of Shadows

Now I won’t be able to read all of these in September but I’ll try to read as many as possible. I’ve only been actively looking out for authors of color within my favorite genres for a year or so, and I’m astounded at how much my TBR has grown. The books above are really just a little teaser of what’s hiding in my bookshelves. So saying “there is no SFF written by authors of color” doesn’t hold up. I’ll also mention that all my listed books are written by women. So don’t anybody say “women (of color) don’t write X” – because they do. And that’s that.

Anyway, I can’t wait to get started on some of these books. Just finishing up a few more fairy tale retellings and them I’m ready to go. (Also, I cheated and already started The Best of All Possible Worlds because I have no discipline.)

5 thoughts on “#Diversiverse – A More Diverse Universe 2014

  1. aartichapati says:

    If you enjoy fairy tale retellings, have you ever read Thorn by Intisar Khanani? It’s a retelling of The Goose Girl – I LOVED it, and it would qualify for #diversiverse, too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

