Bout of Books 13.0 – Wrap-Up

So I’ve made it through another Bout of Books read-a-thon. For the first time, I participated in a read-a-thon during a regular work week and I knew I’d have limited amounts of time for reading. Surprisingly, this was my most successful read-a-thon yet.

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 11th and runs through Sunday, May 17th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 13 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Wrapping things up

Let’s look at the goals I set myself and see whether I reached them:

  • Finish 2 books
    • Catherynne M. Valente – The Boy Who Lost Fairyland
    • Mervyn Peake – Titus Groan
  • Finish 1 audiobook
    • Brandon Sanderson – Elantris
  • Read 1 other book

During the last week, I finished:

I started or continued reading:

  • Theodora Goss – In the Forst of Forgetting
  • Catherynne M. Valente – The Boy Who Lost Fairyland (finished by now)
  • Mervyn Peake – Titus Groan

I should have expected this (I know myself, after all) but while I stuck somewhat to my plan, I mostly grabbed new books by mood. Trying to draw out the fourth Fairyland novel, I picked up Theodora Goss’ story collection. And all of a sudden, some of my 2015 reading challenges came to mind so I had to throw Malinda Lo’s Ash into the mix. Anything to make the Valente last longer…

I did finish my audiobook and I achieved my primary goal of finishing two books. I could have easily finished the third one but because it’s Cat Valente, I decided to keep a chapter or two for later. (It didn’t last all that long, my review will be up tomorrow evening.)


Challenges

This time, I didn’t set myself a goal for challenge participation because I didn’t know how much time I would have – and I’d rather spend my free time reading. However, I did participate in three challenges as well as one Twitter chat!

The Cover Color Challenge was a lot of fun. It put me in the mood for rearranging my bookshelves and sorting them by color. The Modern to Classic Challenge was much more difficult. Picking a book published after 2005 that may last the ages and still be read in 100 years time? I went for Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels, but it’s anyone’s guess which books will really survive the test of time. And Pratchett is well known, well loved, and he published a lot of books that transcend genre barriers. The final challenge I participated in was “take a picture of your favorite bout of books read” (I forgot the official name) and I quickly picked Jolies ténèbres – because I was still reading The Boy Who Lost Fairyland and felt I should choose a book I had finished during the read-a-thon.

The Twitter chat was wonderful. It’s a crazy, fast-paced event with some easy questions and some really hard ones. Picking your favorite mythological creature was practically impossible. Picking a favorite genre was much easier. But it’s mostly the interaction with other readers and bloggers, their answers and the discussions that grow out of them, that make the chat worthwile.


I don’t know about you but I’m ready for the next Bout of Books…

Leave a Reply

