#Diversiverse – A More Diverse Universe Reading Challenge (October 4-17)

It’s Diversiverse time again! The reading challenge A More Diverse Universe is hosted by Aarti at Book Lust and will take place from 4th to 17th October this year. If you want to participate, just click on the banner and sign up.

diversiverse 2015

The rules for the challenge are really simple:
  • Read and review one book
  • written by a person of color
  • during the first two weeks of October (October 4th-17th)

It’s a low-pressure challenge without genre restrictions. You can read any type of book you  like. For me, the difficulty is not in finding books but rather in finishing them during the challenge. But two weeks is a good amount of time to read one book, even if your day job eats up most of your time. I’ll up my personal challenge game and aim for two books, because ambition.

Here’s the list of novels I came up with spontaneously. I’ll pick and choose from these or any others that I might think of in the meantime.

  • N.K. Jemisin – The Fifth Season
  • Karin Lowachee – The Gaslight Dogs
  • Ken Liu – The Grace of Kings
  • Jennifer Marie Brissett – Elysium
  • Zen Cho – Sorcerer to the Crown
  • Hiromi Goto – Half World
  • David Anthony Durham – Acacia
  • Helen Oyeyemi – White is for Witching
  • Miyuki Miyabe – Brave Story
  • Nahoko Uehashi – Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit
  • Nalo Hopkinson – Brown Girl in the Ring
  • Aliette de Bodard – The House of Shattered Wings

Those are just the ones I could think of off the top of my head. While I am mostly a reader of SFF, I don’t believe that any genre lacks writers of color. They may not get the same promotion from their publishers as others, but they are there. And Aarti’s challenge is all about realising this and trying to read books by people from cultures other than our own – or maybe to finally find a book written by someone with experiences more like your own.

There’s still enough time to sign up to the challenge, find books that sound good to you, or maybe browse other people’s lists to find out what they plan to read. I hope for many participants for purely personal reasons – because those participants will point me in the direction of many new books. And there can never be too many books.

5 thoughts on “#Diversiverse – A More Diverse Universe Reading Challenge (October 4-17)

    • Dina says:

      Yay, another participant. 🙂
      The covers are gorgeous (I keep stroking the ones I have as paper copies) and the stories sound really good as well. The difficult part is deciding which one to read first…

      Like

      • fiddlerblue says:

        I agree, I can’t decide which one to read first actually, although the House of Shattered Wings really got me interested so maybe I’d go for that one first 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

