Books in the Queue – The Sprint to the End of the Year Edition

Oh man, I have so many books to read this year still. Whether it’s for challenges, for Hugo award consideration, because I’ve been waiting for their publication, or simply because I need to read them because otherwise a little part of me will die – I have way too many books lined up that I still want to finish in 2015. Here’s a look at the ones that are looking at me with the biggest puppy dog eyes and that want to be read most urgently:

  • Catherynne M. Valente – Radiance
    Oh my god, why is this book not in my hands yet I’m dying here! I’ve read a sneak peek of this via NetGalley and fell in love so hard that I had a book hangover. And that was only the beginning. How broken with the rest of the book leave me, I ask you? I don’t care, give it to me now!
  • N. K. Jemisin – The Fifth Season
    It’s no secret I love Nora Jemisin’s writing and people have had nothing but praise for this latest of her books. My fingers are twitching in anticipation.
  • Sara Monette – Mélusine
    The Goblin Emperor stole my heart, so now I want to read everything by Sarah Monette/Katherine Addison.
  • Hannah Moskowitz – A History of Glitter and Blood
    It’s The Booksmugglers’ fault. The cover caught my eye but the plot sounded only meh. Then Ana and Thea RAVED about this and seconds later, I owned the book. It happens.
  • Terry Pratchett – The Shepherd’s Crown
    I’m a little torn here. On the one hand, Tiffany Aching and Granny Weatherwax are my favorite Discworld characters and I desperately want another adventure with them. On the other hand, this is the last Discworld book ever and it breaks my heart in so many different ways that I don’t want to read it just yet.
  • Nicole Kornher-Stace – Archivist Wasp
    Again, The Booksmugglers. You guys are going to ruin me! In this case, I think Liz Bourke also raved about it in her column Sleeps With Monsters.
  • Elizabeth Bear – Karen Memory
    I bought this right when it came out but it kind of got lost under a bunch of other books. I can’t quite remember why I didn’t jump into this right away, it sounds so good! And because it sounds so good, I suspect it might be a Hugo contender and I need to read it before nominating starts. Informed decisions and all that.
  • Seth Dickinson – The Traitor Baru Cormorant
    I think the internet has said enough about this to make everyone read it. My excitement about this book has been building since early this year. Now let’s see if the marketing hype has promised too much. Either way, I look forward to this very much.
  • Angela Slatter – Of Sorrow and Such
    I still have Slatter’s shor story collections to read before this (because reasons) but whatever happens, I must read this soon. Everything about it is wonderful. The cover, the blurb, the idea… yes. This is for me.

And here are a few that I need to list because I’m worried I’ll forget about them otherwise and they really didn’t do anything to deserve that (and yes, I am aware that I talk about books as if they were sentient).

  • S. M. Wheeler – Sea Change
    I’ve had this lined up for ages. It sounds just perfect for me, the blurb pushes all my buttons already. Why haven’t I read this yet? Do you know, cause I don’t.
  • Octavia Cade – The August Birds
    This sounds heartbreaking and beautiful and it’s by Octavia Cade and I know it’s going to leave me in a puddle of tears but that’s fine.
  • Molly Tanzer – Vermilion
    It didn’t get a lot of hype but with that cover and that synopsis, it was a sure thing for me. This feels like the kind of book that will end up as an underrated gem.
  • Angela Slatter – Sourdough and Other Stories
    I first heard about Angela Slatter (pronounced slay-ter, I’m told) on the Writer and the Critic podcast, and she sounds like  THE writer for me. I bought both her story collections and am eagerly waiting for her Tor.com novella.
  • Rachel Bach – Honour’s Knight and Heaven’s Queen
    I adored the first book in this sci-fi, alien, conspiracy, romantic, space adventure trilogy and don’t really know why I haven’t finished it yet. It’s about time.
  • Jeff Vandermeer – Authority and Acceptance
    See Rachel Bach. To be fair, though, Annihilation was a very weird book so my taking a break after it is understandable. I’d still like to complete the trilogy and maybe get some answers about Area X and all the strangeness that’s going on there.
  • Cecilia Dart-Thornton – The Ill-Made Mute
    A fairy tale retelling that sounds so exquisite and original that I put it on two of my challenge lists.
  • John Crowley – Little, Big
    A book I’ve been putting of for far too long. It’s Cat Valente’s favorite book – that should be incentive enough. I mean, she is my author goddess! If she likes it, I probably will, too. Page count and writing density have kept me away but this year, I’ll dive into it. Pinkie swear.
  • Jaida Jones & Danielle Bennett – Dragon Soul
    I’ve read one Jones/Bennett book per year since I discovered the lovely Havemercy and I don’t see any reason to discontinue that trend. These are wonderful fantasies of manners involving diverse romantic couples as well as court intrigue, mechanical (sentient) dragons, magicians, and the most wonderful bickering between characters.

On the plus side, there are a few books I’m really excited about but that I’m waiting to read on purpose. Brandon Sanderson’s newest Mistborn trilogy, for example. By now, I know how evil that man can be with a cliffhanger, so I’m biding my time until the trilogy is out and then I’ll dive into the universe of allomancy and feruchemy again. I’m also saving up Ancillary Mercy for my next holiday because I want to (re-)read the entire trilogy in one go.

And since there are still more books lined up for this year that I didn’t tell you about, I better shut up now and get reading.

5 thoughts on “Books in the Queue – The Sprint to the End of the Year Edition

    • Dina says:

      That sounds like an excellent plan. Radiance will come first (because Cat Valente is always my first choice) but Karen Memory and the Fifth Season are both very, very high on my to read list.

      Like

  1. DJ (@MyLifeMyBooksMyEscape) says:

    I read Karen Memory when it was first released, and it’s a fun story. Had a total crush on Karen 😛 Great character.

    And I did just pick up The Traitor Baru Cormorant, too. I didn’t think much about this novel when I saw it was coming out, but then, like you said, the internet couldn’t stop talking about! So I had to pick it up. That, and because of a cover blurb by Kameron 🙂

    Like

    • Dina says:

      I read an excerpt I got via NetGalley and it broke me. It’s so beautiful. Now finally the full book is out and all I have to do is survive work until Friday – then I’m off to explore the solar system. Wheeeee!

      Like

Leave a Reply

