2016 Challenges – Fairy Tale Retellings

Mel at The Daily Prophecy has been hosting this challenge for a while, but last year I was too late to sign up. I will not miss it again! Not only do I love Mel’s writing about books, her bingo cards, challenges, and other posts, I also owe her my gorgeous copy of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted which I won in one of her givaways. Thanks again, Mel!

(Fairy Tale) Retelling Challenge – Level: Goose Girl

Retelling Challenge 2016

If you don’t like fairy tale retellings, other retellings are also allowed – mythology, folklore, classics, and so on.

For what is probably the first time ever, I resisted the urge to aim for the highest goal (or the coolest sounding level) and went for something realistic. Here are the challenge leves (from Mel’s blog):

There are 6 different levels you can aim for:

-Enchanted Moura: 1 – 4 books.Retelling Challenge Goose Girl
-Goose Girl: 5 – 9 books.
-Evil Queen: 10 – 15 books.
-Wise princess: 16 – 20 books.
-Kuma Lisa: 21 – 25 books.
-Cheshire cat: 26+ books

See? I’m reasonable for once. I totally wanted to go for Cheshire Cat because it’s the highest level and also IT’S CALLED CHESHIRE CAT! Don’t ask me how I resisted, but for 2016, I shall simply be the Goose Girl.

And because no sign-up post is much fun without a list of some sort that I create with great care and thought only to dismiss once the year has arrived, here are some books I plan to read for the challenge:

10 thoughts on “2016 Challenges – Fairy Tale Retellings

  1. jazzfeathers says:

    Oh my goodness, all these books sound awesome!
    You know, for a second I thought I could do the challenge too, but… I don’t know. I’m in such short supply for reading time. But maybe the first level…

    Like

  2. Dina says:

    Hahahahaha, that was easy. 🙂
    Good luck and don’t worry about finishing the challenge. I’m failing so many challenges this year but I still had tons of fun and discovered new books.

    Like

  3. Mel@thedailyprophecy says:

    It’s good to see that you are still happy with Uprooted, it was such a great feeling to host that giveaway. I always love the Goose Girl, so I think it’s a great level to aim for ;)! Cress, Winter, The glass casket; you are up to read some great books. I hope you have fun and happy reading!

    Like

    • Dina says:

      I can’t wait. Thanks for hosting the challenge again.
      The Lunar Chronicles aren’t my favorite books in the world but they are so much fun. I know it’s all silly and I know I probably shouldn’t like it, but I do and I’m not ashamed of it. 🙂 The Glass Casket interested me from the second I saw the cover. And with the Goose Girl Level, I should manage to actually finish the challenge.

      Like

  4. coolcurrybooks says:

    I’d recommend Shadows on the Moon by Zoe Marriott – it’s a really good Cinderella retelling. Or Thorn by Intisar Khanani as a really good Goose Girl retelling, but I feel like I might have seen that one on your blog already.

    Like

    • Dina says:

      Yes, I did read Thorn and really liked it. Shadows on the Moon is here somewhere. I’ll definitely put it on my list for 2016. Knowing myself, I won’t stick by the list I made above anyway. Thanks for the recommendation!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Auggie says:

    Ooh! All of these books look fantastic! *adds every last one to goodreads shelf*

    So glad I’m in the challenge with you for 2016! Hopefully it’ll be a magical year! *high five*

    Like

Leave a Reply

