SFF Books Coming In 2016 That I Can’t Wait To Read

2015 is not quite over yet and, believe me, I’m holding on to every bit of it as much as I still can. Challenges unfinished, books not yet read, potential Hugo candidates still waiting to be discovered… but while I do this traditional end-of-the-year dance of reading-related-stress (the good kind), I am also looking forward to next year and all the shiny things coming our way. Take a look at these and then tell me you can stay away from the preorder-button of your choice!

More Tor.com novellas

I planned to read all of this year’s novellas (that didn’t work) but the ones I did were wonderful. Tor.com’s lineup for next year looks just as stunning, with my most awaited books being:

  • Mary Robinette Kowal – Forest of Memory
  • Frederic S. Durbin – A Green and Ancient Light
  • Emily Foster – The Drowning Eyes

I swear I didn’t pick these only because of their covers, although they are all stunning. That’s just an added bonus.

The last Fairyland book by Catherynne M. Valente

fairyland 5OHMYGODFAIRYLANDWILLEND WHATWILLIDOWITHMYLIFE… ahem. I am emotional about this. Valente’s Fairyland series is what made me start this blog, it is what brought a wonderful author to my attention and it has broken me emotionally almost every year since the book series began. But in a good way. Now it’s time to end the series and I know endings are good and important. But you know… saying goodbye to September, Saturday, Ell, Blunderbuss, and all the other wonderful characters will be hard.

Anglea Slatter’s first novel Vigil

As I went from reasonable to gushing in only two books, it comes as no surprise that anything by Angela Slatter is cause for major squees in my house. But a full novel, as opposed to the amazing short story collections and novella I’ve read, is something else. GIVE ME THIS NAO!!

Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven King

raven kingOHMYGODANOTHERSERIESISENDING!!! With my brand new book cases, the ever awesome boyfriend also got me a set of hardback copies of the entire Raven Cycle, this upcoming one included (well, pre-ordered). But again, this isn’t on my list because of its utterly stunning cover, but because I fell hard for these books that I expected to dislike. Maggie Stiefvater came up during a time when “this type” of fantasy romance (her Shiver trilogy) was everything you could see and I was sick and tired of it. But I gave her books a chance and am now a convert who gets all giggly and big-eyed when Blue or Gansey or Ronan (oh my god, Ronan!) are mentioned. Gimme, gimme, gimme!

These are the very specific authors and books I look forward to, but there is a whole list of random stuff I want to read as well, based on random things. Sometimes, I admit it’s the cover, sometimtes the blurb, other times I have no idea what the book is about but someone I trust recommended it, and so on. Here they be, some of the books I want next year:

 

6 thoughts on “SFF Books Coming In 2016 That I Can’t Wait To Read

  1. nikki @bookpunks says:

    Ooooh, I hadn’t yet heard the next and last Fairyland books is coming out next year! Holy fuck! I still haven’t read the last one, but I think I will get both of these at the same time and binge them together.

    Also very much looking forward to All the Birds in the Sky.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dina says:

      Me too, although this book ended up on my wishlist purely on cover-appeal. Only AFTER I put it on the wishlist did I notice it was by Charlie Jane Anders, which made me want it even more. 🙂

      Like

  2. Jenny @ Reading the End says:

    I had that experience of reading The Raven Boys too! It was both that I was unimpressed with Stiefvater’s past oeuvre (without, of course, having read any of it :p) and that I don’t love Welsh mythology. But The Raven Boys is so so great, in spite of the Welsh stuff. I cannot WAIT for The Raven King.

    Like

    • Dina says:

      Right? It has its very own kind of magic. I find it very hard to describe the plot of these books but whatever Maggie Stiefvater is doing, it’s totally working. The Raven King will break me, I’m sure of it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

