Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR

Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish,  is a fun book blogging meme in which I plan to participate a lot more this year. The topics aren’t always up my alley but as I love making lists (especially lists of books), here’s my first TTT post of the year.

Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR

These are not the most recent additions to my TBR, but they are somewhat recent and definitely the ones I’m most excited to read. Some are a few months old, some even older, but I’ve just recently discovered them or decided to buy them.

  1. China Miéville – This Census-Taker
  2. Anna Tambour – Crandolin
  3. Silvia Moreno-Garcia – Signal to Noise
  4. Nike Sulway – Rupetta
  5. Lisa L. Hannett & Angela Slatter – The Female Factory
  6. Susan Dennard – Truthwitch
  7. Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – Illuminae
  8. Daniel Polansky – The Builders
  9. Carla Speed McNeil – Finder (Book 1)
  10. C.S.E. Cooney – Bone Swans

 

 

Why am I so excited?

Anything new by China Miéville is cause for major excitement and this new book of his is surprisingly short. It also sounds dark and creepy and like there might be a few twists along the way. And for some reason, I believe it will make a perfect winter read.

Anna Tambour’s Crandolin had been on my wishlist only for a little while when it was included in one of the Humble Story Bundles – so naturally I bought the bundle and got a bunch of other intriguing books in the mix.

Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s Signal to Noise has garnered lots of praise throughout 2015 but for some reason, I thought I wouldn’t like it. But the more I read about the book, the more I wanted to experience it for myself. So now it’s mine and I want to read it very soon.

Rupetta and The Female Factory are both products of my love for Angela Slatter. Rupetta is published by the same publishing house as Slatter’s beautiful short fiction collections, and Slatter co-wrote The Female Factory – which is one of Twelfth Planet Press series of short story collections. I just read Love and Romanpunk from them so that gave me the additional push to buy the book.

Truthwitch and Illuminae are two books that I bought purely on hype. Illuminae actually put me off with its cover, the authors both didn’t speak to me (Kaufman’s other books sound like generic teen romances, I found Kristoff’s Stormdancer novel only okay), but The Book Smugglers and many other people were so impressed that I have to read the book for myself. Truthwitch hooked me with the premise (again, the cover is not so much my thing), and the crazy amount of tweets this book has gotten – all of which are full of love and praise – did the rest.

Polansky’s Builders was always going to be read by me. It’s part of the Tor.com novella line-up from 2015 (which has been excellent!) and look at that cover! Come on, how could I resist?

Finder was an impulse buy after re-listening to old episodes of the SF Squeecast. They squeed well, they squeed convincingly, and I went out and bought this huge brick of a graphic novel. And that’s only part one!

Bone Swans tickles all my spots. The cover is a Kay Nielsen illustration, the author plays with fairy tales, her prose is described as lyrical – that’s really all it takes.

So this is it, my list of books that get me giddy with excitement and make me jump up and down in my chair a little when I think about them. Now all I have to do is read them, and quickly, because 2016 promises to be another great year for SFF publishing.

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR

    • Dina says:

      That’s true. Expectations are only growing for the book, so the chances of disappointment are much higher. The problem is, I can’t tell this time if it’s just really good marketing or if people are genuinely loving the book? Ancillary Justice was also hyped when it came out and totally lived up to it. Same with Uprooted – but then, I think those books got a more slow-burning constant buzz rather than a big boom of tweets/blog posts around publication date.
      I guess we’ll see. My hopes are still high. 🙂

      Like

  1. Tasha says:

    Hi! If you’re interested in reading Truthwitch with a group of people, our book club, It’s Not Just a Book Club, will be reading it next month as our New Release read. We’re all so excited to start it and you’re welcome to join. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

