Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Recent Reads

The year has only just begun but I’ve already discovered a few amazing reads. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is the perfect opportunity to share them with you. May your TBRs grow and your wallets suffer as much as mine.

Top Ten Recent Reads

  1. N. K. Jemisin – The Fifth Season
  2. Becky Chambers – The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet
  3. Sofia Samatar – A Stranger in Olondria
  4. Benjamin Alire Sáenz – Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
  5. Andy Weir – The Martian
  6. Noelle Stevenson – Nimona
  7. Susan Dennard – Truthwitch
  8. Angela Slatter – The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings
  9. Catherynne M. Valente – Radiance
  10. Matt Wallace – Envy of Angels

I have linked my reviews to all of these in case you want to know more about them and why I love them so much. What I notice with great joy is how different and varied these recent favorites are. Sure, there are some obvious choices for me – Cat Valente is pretty much guaranteed to make me happy with whatever she writes. Angela Slatter was a new discovery last year and by the second book I knew I had found another forever-in-my-heart favorite. I have still to find something of hers I don’t like. Those two authors are the easy picks and made the list to noone’s surprise.

But I also have a graphic novel on this list – Nimona – that I didn’t expect to like and ended up adoring, I have a non-SFF novel about a boy growing up and discovering not just the secrets of the universe but secrets about himself and his best friend in the entire world. I have a YA SFF novel that could have gone very wrong but was amazing fun with a surprisingly engaging romance (talking about Truthwitch here).
Then there is N. K. Jemisin’s utterly perfect post-apocalyptic The Fifth Season  that can’t be compared to anything else because it is so original and mind-blowing. Add to that a literary fantasy novel about the power of books and words and belief. Which also has a ghost in it and let me travel the wondrous streets of Olondria.
The two science fiction novels also couldn’t be more different. While The Martian is hilarious hard sci-fi about surviving on Mars (mostly on potatoes) and fighting the odds, The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet is an intimate space opera about a diverse group of people (human and otherwise) and their stories and relationships.
Lastly, there is the non-stop chuckle-inducing Sin du Jour series by Matt Wallace which I thought would just be good fun – and it was – but which ended up as the opening chapter to a much bigger world. I can’t wait to giggle my butt off reading the next volume.

So, this is me, giving myself a pat on the shoulder for trying things out of my comfort zone. Out of my comfort zone is where all the new favorite books are hiding, after all…

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Recent Reads

  1. @lynnsbooks says:

    I’ve read the Becky Chambers book and also Andy Weir. It’s good to see Radiance on here – I have a copy and recently started but had to put it down – I just don’t think I was in the right frame of mind but I will pick it up again as Valente’s writing is so lovely.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

    • Dina says:

      Radiance does require a lot of concentration. The changing styles can also be a challenge, at least when you read many books at the same time. Can’t wait to see what you think when you read it. 🙂

      Like

  2. saraletourneau says:

    I’d really like to check out Small Angry Planet. I’ve read some good things about that book – but if I get it, I’m going to buy the UK version via The Book Depository. The US cover is terrible. *lol*

    Here are my last 10 reads that I’d rank at least 4.5 out of 5 stars. It looks like we have two picks in common! 😉

    – Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert
    – Walk On Earth A Stranger by Rae Carson
    – The Martian by Andy Weir
    – Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor
    – The Name Of The Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
    – This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee
    – The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
    – The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin
    – Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
    – The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin

    Like

Leave a Reply

