Books in the Queue – The Summer Reading List

The struggle is real, guys. I don’t know what to read because there are TOO MANY GREAT BOOKS! I have a total book overload and whatever I start reading doesn’t do it for me because I know there are fifty other great books I also want to be reading right now. But I’m tackling this ridiculous first world problem head on and making a list. These are some (!) of the books I wish I could eat up at this very moment, but being semi-reasonable at times, I know that it will take me a while to catch up on all of these. I also know that I don’t ever stick to strict reading plans, so I won’t plan my reading order. I hope that I can get through all of these during the summer – that includes June, July, and August – and you’ll see some reviews of these soon-ish.

My Summer Reading List

Catching up on sequels

  • Catherynne M. Valente – The Girl Who Raced Fairyland All the Way Home
  • Maggie Stiefvater – The Raven King

I’m currently reading both of these, so you can definitely expect reviews within the next weeks. Spoiler alert: I’m loving both books, so be prepared for some squeeing.

Shiny and chrome new stuff

  • Mishell Baker – Borderline
  • Kat Howard – Roses & Rot
  • Angela Slatter – Vigil

I got a review copy of Angela Slatter’s first novel. You know what this means! I will crawl into my bed, start this book and won’t come out until I’m done. Maybe some music is allowed in there with me but that’s it. Food and human company are overrated anyway, especially when there’s an Angela Slatter novel involved.

Both Borderline and Roses and Rot have picked up some rave reviews and while Kat Howard’s novel sounds just up my alley, I don’t know whether Mishell Baker’s book will be my thing at all. But they both sound fantastic and throw around so many buzzwords that I can’t wait to start them.

Books for reading challenges

  • Nicole Kornher-Stace – Archivist Wasp
  • C.S.E. Cooney – Bone Swans
  • Helen Oyeyemi – What is Not Yours is Not Yours
  • N. A. Sulway – Rupetta

Ah, reading challenges. A blessing and a curse. I do love them dearly but I am – again – falling behind on some of them. Summer holidays are the perfect time to catch up, so wish me luck.

…and all the rest

  • Jordanna Max Brodsky – The Immortals
  • Dexter Palmer – Version Control
  • Kelly Lee – A Criminal Magic
  • Hermione Eyre – Viper Wine
  • Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff – Illuminae
  • Silvia Moreno-Garcia – Signal to Noise
  • April Genevieve Tucholke – Wink Poppy Midnight

These are just a few books that keep staring at me with puppy dog eyes, begging to be read soon. They each have something that completely drew me in, whether it’s Prohibitian Era magic, Greek gods, unreliable narrators, time machines, music, crazy literary romps, or complicated relationships – I could pick up any of these right now and be happy (if it weren’t for the other books looking resentful at me. Yes, books really can look resentful, you just have to leave them on your TBR pile too long and they start hating you. I’m serious!)

Other than that, I still have some Hugo Awards reading to do. I have read Uprooted and The Fifth Season, which will definitely be my first two choices. Unless of course one of the other books is so overwhelmingly amazing that it overtakes them, but I very much doubt that. Still, I look forward to Jim Butcher’s book and I’m curious if Seveneves will be the first Neal Stephenson book I finish. So it’s going to be a long summer filled with lots of books. The way my luck goes, by the time I’ve finished all of these, some of the sequels I’m waiting for will have been published and I can start the whole thing over. If too many books is my biggest worry, however, I consider myself a very happy girl indeed.

9 thoughts on “Books in the Queue – The Summer Reading List

  1. Carolyn says:

    SOoo many of these are on my TBR too. I keep meaning to read Signal to Noise but idk why I keep not reading it lol. I didn’t really like A Criminal Magic at all so hopefully you enjoy it more than I did.

    Like

  2. Tammy says:

    I’ve already read a bunch of these, The Immortals and Borderline being my favorites. I have a copy of Signal to Noise which I’ve had since it was published, but haven’t had time to read:-( Also dying to read Helen Oyeyemi’s book. Great list, good luck!

    Like

    • llyren says:

      I second that ๐Ÿ˜‰
      And even better: The next volume is going to come out in autumn…

      I also have Oyeyemi on my current “will possibly be read soon”-list. Are you Interested in a buddy-read?

      Like

  3. Jenny @ Reading the End says:

    Oh this struggle is the realest. I guess it’s not unique to right now, but right now feels like there are the most exciting books there have ever been. Being spoiled for choice is a good dilemma to have, except that every time I start reading one book I think woefully of all the books I’m NOT reading. So many!

    Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Raven King, also!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

