Review: Patrick Ness – The Knife of Never Letting Go

My first contact with Patrick Ness was the fabulous A Monster Calls which surprised me on many levels. You cannot believe how happy I am that, for once, a Young Adult book actually lives up to the hype that surrounds it. Plus, you can always tell when I’m on holiday and can read all day long. But had I had to work every day, I think I would have raced through this one, anyway.

knife of never letting goA MONSTER CALLS
by Patrick Ness

Published by: Walker, 2008
ISBN: 9781406326994
ebook: 496 pages
Series: Chaos Walking #1

My rating: 7,5/10

First sentence: The first thing you find out when yer dog learns to talk is that dogs don’t got nothing much to say.

Todd Hewitt is the last boy in Prentisstown.
But Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in a constant, overwhelming, never-ending Noise. There is no privacy. There are no secrets.
Or are there?
Just one month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd unexpectedly stumbles upon a spot of complete silence.
Which is impossible.
Prentisstown has been lying to him.
And now he’s going to have to run

divider

divider

The Chaos Walking Trilogy:

  1. The Knife of Never Letting Go
  2. The Ask and the Answer
  3. Monsters of Men
    • Prequel: The New World

Leave a comment